Children Of Vice (Children Of Vice #1)

Children Of Vice (Children Of Vice #1) By J. J. McAvoyChildren Of Vice (Children Of Vice #1) By J. J. McAvoy

If you’re a big fan of J. J. McAvoy like I am then you would know what a big deal this book is. I was sitting patiently in a corner bitting my nails off, bidding time, waiting for this book to come out. And to my disappointment this book did not live up to it’s full potential. And I totally blamed that on myself. 

This book is a branch off from the Ruthless People Series which is basically four books put together giving us an insight on the parents. The ending of last year the final book for that series came out called Bloody Melody and I’ll have you know it was bloody good. You can read my review for that series by clicking on the links. Readers don’t have to read the first four books before reading this but I would advise to. 

I guess because of how much I enjoyed the parents story I was expecting more from their kids but honestly, it just showed how much their parents failed them. They were not as heartless nor ruthless like their parents and I can’t see where Melody and Liam went wrong with them.

The hero is the first son of the maifa and he is the head. I love how I can see glimpses of Liam, his father in him. The heroine is one of his small day crush who is wrongfully in jail and thinks that the hero’s family is to blame for her family’s death. With the help of the hero, the heroine is let out of jail after she was showed the truth of her family’s death and have to marry to hero (getting flash back on a little melody and liam here) The hero promises her revenge on the people who wronged her and that was exactly what he did; eventhough he went about with it through some unorthodox way.

I hated how throughout this book, the sister showed how spoil and winy she was. I felt like she wanted what was not hers to begin with and that everyone had to fall to her feet whenever she says to do so. I also hated how this book ended but that is the only reason why I’m anxiously awaiting the next book.

My favorite quote in this book was when they were explaining the hero’s parents to the heroine;

“..It’s a long story. If I started, I’d need at least four novels to finish…”

  There was also one or two scenarios that happened in this book that didn’t really settle well with me and had me cringing. I’m not too sure this series will be as great as the Ruthless People series was.

Thank you so much for reading my review. Please make sure you pre-order my book “Never Forget You” on Amazon coming out on 4th July!