Kingdom


Kingdom By Rachel E. Wollaston

I finished this book about two days ago and I had a busy schedule that put my blog behind time. Today however, I made it a priority to sit down and post my blog since I received this book forms the author for a review.

This book is a debut for a young author whose blog you can follow by clicking Here.

I have to honestly say, if this book came across my eyes about 3-4 years ago I would have rated it 5 stars since at that age this was my ideal fantasy book to read. But from then to now however, I’ve read so many well written fantasy books that when compare to this book I’ll have to rate Kingdom 4 stars.

Hats off to the author for such a creative imagination at such a young age. These are traits I scarcely find nowadays.

So the book involves a 19 year old heroine who decided to take a year off before heading to university and  got a job as a live in nanny at a gothic mansion. The heroine loves children and at one point in her life she wanted to be in the service of childcare but her passion for writing kept her going. I can’t say much more about this book for the fear of releasing spoilers.

I can say that the storyline takes you on an adventure of a life time. An adventure that I wish could happen in real life. It’s a story within story that keeps you at the edge of your seat, always wondering what is going to happen next. Magic, fairies no sorry I meant sylph, bunnies, ogres, mermaids, powers and many more are some things to look forward for.

The main hero is a sweetheart and I wish he was more than a character( when you read this book you’ll know the double meaning behind this) I love that eventhough he felt he wasn’t brave enough he tried his best for the heroine.

Let me not forget to ask the author “What was that ending?”

I don’t know how I feel about it. Too many questions to ask about that ending.

Like did you write it like that beacuse there is a book 2? Does the heroine ends up with Max? Does she mets the hero after the ending? Does she goes to University after the year is up?

Overall I enjoyed this book and would recommend anyone to read it.

Full star Full star Full star Full star No star
Leave a Reply

