Boxer/Lawyer/Mafia/Sheriff  Romance



Star Crossed (Battered Hearts #2) By Kele Moon

Romeo, Romeo wherefore art thou Romeo?

I really really really enjoyed this book. I must praise the author on creating such a perfect Romeo and Juliet seniaro. The book was more than I was expecting and I did not want to put it down. There was never a part where I was disappointed or wanted to smack the book into my head.

Heavyweight MMA fighter, Romeo Wellings comes from the hard streets of New York where his family ties to the mafia cause him nothing but pain. Romeo is all for family and usually do whatever it takes to keep them whole. That is until he had enough. He crosses path with a long time enemy’s twin sister and was instantly drawn to her. What makes it even more intriguing is the fact that her name is Juliet (Jules) Conner.

Juliet Conner is the only lawyer in her hometown of Garnet, also a volunteer Sheriff’s deputy and co-owner of a successful MMA training center. She hates it when called Juliet and prefers Jules. Never had she imagined one night with Romeo would leave her needing more. Only problem is he is her brother’s worst enemy. The two of them then embark on the journey of keeping their relationship a secret. But all secrets come to light. 

I loved that even thought they were apart for so long they kept in contact and committed to each other. I was happy that Romeo had someone besides his brothers to find love in. I felt that life dealt him a really cruel hand and he deserved happiness. Juliet was very understanding and I was glad that eventhough her brother would repeatedly criticize Romeo she still believed that he was so different than what her brother would tell her.

I have this hate/like feelings toward her brother. I get that she is his only living relative and that they lost their parents but I felt that he was a little too over protective. To me she is old enough to make her own mistakes and decisions. I like him because though life threw him a curve ball he didn’t sit and sulk or cried pity tears. He was always there for his sister and she was always his first priority.  

This is a must read book and the ending wasn’t what I was hoping for but regardless it was superb.



Leave a Reply

